Duke’s Head windows saved

Youngs withdraw plans to remove etched glass

  Related Articles:
  Sign up for our free weekly newsletter

Comment on this story on the

Three etched glass windows at the Duke’s Head on Putney Embankment have been saved after the pub owners, Young’s, withdrew plans to replace them with clear glass.

At its last meeting (June 22) the planning applications committee had asked the brewer to reconsider proposed alterations to the listed building. The plans, which include refurbishment of the basement and upper floors, had attracted 115 objections from local people and pub users.

Young’s had originally wanted to open up the ground floor bars but following local concerns had reduced the scale of the proposals so that the pub’s essential features would remain.

The scheme approved by councillors on July 20 retains the three existing bar areas and keeps the entire existing main bar counter. The three etched windows on Lower Richmond Road will now be preserved. The only alterations to the internal glazed screens will be an opening between the middle bar and public bar to allow disabled access.

Planning applications chairman Leslie McDonnell said, “Pub regulars and local residents will be delighted that Young’s have agreed to modify their changes so that they preserve the character of the building. Councillors recognized the need for the pub to be brought up to modern standards but did not want it to lose its unique charm.”

For more information visit www.wandsworth.gov.uk/planning and key in ref 2006/1039 and 1043.

July 21, 2006